The Leagues

The Kansas City Roller Warriors

Founded in 2004, this WFTDA flat track league won the national championship in 2007 and has traditionally been one of the most dreaded travel teams in all of women’s roller derby.

Over the years, KCRW has played and practiced at such historical venues as Kemper Arena, Hale Arena, Municipal Auditorium, and Memorial Hall. From 2006 through 2020, the four house teams were the Dreadnought Dorothys, the Victory Vixens, the Black Eye Susans, and the Knockouts. In 2018, they briefly launched a coed team known as the 7th Street Brigade.

As of 2023, KCRW’s three new house teams are the Strawberry Hellions, the 18th & Vines, and the Midtown Misfits. The new team names were designed to better tie the league to its beloved hometown.

Fountain City Roller Derby

Founded in 2010 as Dead Girl Derby, this USARS flat track league won the MADE national championship and the coed national championship in 2015. Currently, they make their home at B&D Skate Center in Independence. FCRD currently boasts over 200 members with their ladies’ division, all-gender, and Zombie league division combined, making them the largest flat track roller derby league in Kansas City.

Fountain City’s house teams are the Shotgun Sheilas, the Royal Pains, the Lovely Lethals, and the Deadly Sirens. All-gender teams include the Usual Suspects, the Public Enemies, the Untouchables, and the Regulators. The Zombie league teams are Black Plague and Gang Green.

The Kansas City Junior Roller Warriors

These little ladies ages 10-17 play under the JRDA rule set and are trained by some of the best talent the Kansas City Roller Warriors have to offer.

Previously, the Junior Roller Warriors’ house teams were Starry Fright, Rolling Thunder, Sonic Boom, and the Wicked Twisters. Nowadays, the teams are distinguished simply by their black or white jerseys.

Other Area Leagues

As time and scheduling allow, KC Derby Digest will cover leagues from other parts of the Midwest, including the Capital City Crushers of Topeka, KS, CoMo Roller Derby of Columbia, MO, the Salina Sirens of Salina, KS, and Springfield Roller Derby of Springfield, MO.

Previous Leagues

In years past, we have also covered now-defunct leagues such as:

  • The Blacksnake Rollergirls of St. Joseph, MO
  • The Missouri River Rollers of Aitchison, KS
  • The NEMO ViQueens of Kirksville, MO
  • The Cowtown Butchers, a men’s league in Riverside, MO
  • The Kansas City Banked Beauties, a banked track league in Independence, MO

All that's fit to digest from the world of Kansas City roller derby!

%d bloggers like this: